Our Speakers

See also the full Conference Programme for details of the individual talks and presentations.

The after dinner speaker is Sarah Williams, Editor of  Who Do You Think You Are? magazine


Our Conference Day Speakers are:

John Titford, AGRA Member, Author and Genealogist


William Spencer, Military Specialist, The National Archives



Professor Rebecca Probert, Warwick University


Rebecca is the author of:

Divorced, Bigamist, Bereaved? The Family Historian’s Guide to Marital Breakdown, Separation, Widowhood, and Remarriage: from 1600 to the 1970s (2015)

Marriage Law for Genealogists: The Definitive Guide …what everyone tracing their family history needs to know about where, when, who and how their English and Welsh ancestors married (2012)


Dr. Colin Chapman, Author, Lecturer and Genealogist


Colin Chapman originated the three-letter Chapman County Code for British Isles counties which formed the basis for a British Standard and now an International Standard, ISO-3166.  He is a life Vice-President of the Federation of Family History Societies, President of the Bristol & Avon Family History Society and President of the Gloucestershire Family History Society. He founded or co-founded six of the British county genealogical societies.

Debbie Kennett, Author and Genealogist


Debbie is currently an Honorary Research Associate at the Department of Human Genetics, Evolution and the Environment, University College, London. She is the author of The Surnames Handbook, A Guide to Family Name Research in the 21st Century (The History Press, 2012) and DNA and Social Networking, A Guide to Genealogy in the 21st Century (The History Press, 2011).


Eric Probert, Fellow of the Society of Genealogists, Author and Lecturer


Eric is a Fellow of the Society of Genealogists, and was Editor of the quarterly Computers in Genealogy for 10 years. He is also the author of Company and Business Records for Family Historians.



Helen Osborn, AGRA Member, Author and Managing Director of Pharos Tutors


Problem solving Panel with AGRA members:

Ian Waller

Les Mitchinson,

Simon Fowler,

Antony Marr

Geoff Swinfield